share

Aurélie

According to Gérard Bauër, “Our voice is our second face.” Aurélie’s encourages us to slow down: it helps us think. It encourages us to question and revisit the foundation of our actions. It calls out our intelligence in order to avoid the temptation of doing things the way they’ve always been done and to instead search for things that make sense.

 

Discover this hand-drawn portrait and story of Aurélie’s life, a moment in time and simple sketch of an individual with multiple talents.

 

 

 

“The first time I heard about you I told myself: ‘Oh my gosh! She is mentally challenged!’”

 

Aurélie confesses to me as a friend would and completes her thought with a smile: “I have a voice that gives the impression that I’m a little slow. On the other hand, it’s pretty funny because I cannot write slowly!”

 

Aurélie’s face has something mature and youthful at the same time. Is there a picture of her that she particularly loves? “On my LinkedIn profile: the picture is not really clear, but my hair was well done, and I was smiling… It was taken at the ESSEC Business School, where I gave a presentation.

 

Surprisingly, it did not matter how many people attended the conference, I was not impressed. It’s probably because I don’t put myself at risk: I simply deliver the information. What do they like about my presentation? They tell me that I’m well-organized and that I speak plainly.”

 

Aurélie helps transform businesses and delivers workshops and presentations on Design Thinking. She also wrote a lot of books on this topic. “I already loved Design Thinking. But in 2010, it was love at first sight: I discovered there was a global approach to finding solutions that would put human beings at the core of everything.

 

Historically, the ambition of designers is to improve the world. William Morris did not only create nice objects during the Industrial Revolution, he was also interested in organizational structure in business.

 

Today, the term “Design Thinking” is so overused. Contrary to what Tim Brown says, everyone cannot be a design thinker; it is first and foremost a state of mind. If the state of mind isn’t there, it’s no good.”

 

Aurélie also wrote a book called D’un soleil à l’autre, which is inspired by her mother’s mental illness, and it is written for children that are experiencing a similar issue. “I wanted something heartwarming, happy, and bright, nothing too heavy. It’s meant to support a discussion. It’s something for a parent to read with their child. With a sick parent, you overdevelop your empathy, and you want to care for your sick parent. I wanted to put into words how these children are feeling so they can learn to think more about themselves.”

 

On receiving the “Reader’s Favorite” (“Coup de Cœur”) award from OCIRP Handicap at Radio France, Aurélie says “It was the first time that I felt uncomfortable in front of an audience. The lights were on me and I was suddenly in tears. I don’t remember what I said. I could barely speak. Everyone found this very touching. Meanwhile I said to myself: ‘I thought I got rid of the fear of public speaking, but in reality I did not get rid of it at all!’ And it was also very intimate, it was not about Design Thinking!

 

But it made me feel good. I was moved by everything because of how grateful I was for this award that came from a lot of people I didn’t know.

 

Why did I write this book? Because I needed to move on from my mother, to take care of my children. I also wanted to find meaning in what I went through by using it to help other children.

 

There is hardly anything available for children with bipolar parents, yet we all need parents that set boundaries for their children. When that is not the case, it’s really destabilizing. I learned that in some countries, psychiatrists ask to see the children when a parent comes in for an appointment.

 

One day, my grandmother, whom I love, said to me, ‘I took a look at these photos, you did not look miserable at all.’ She simply did not understand what I was going through. In any case, she was very important to me: she was always very happy, joking all the time, and extremely organized and loving. At ninety-eight years old, she still had her mischievous personality.

 

What do I want to do today? I want to learn to coach using applied neuroscience; I want to experiment with other projects in businesses and in education; and I plan on writing more books. Anyway, I want to explore. I want to be useful, always in line with my goals.

 

When we do meaningful things, it allows us to have meaningful experiences. And to make it meaningful, it must come from within you. It must be personal.” 

 

 

 

English Translation by Kelly Biv, Salem State University, Salem, Massachusetts USA

Other portraits

Partager

Aurélie

Selon Gérard Bauër, « La voix est un second visage ». Celle d’Aurélie est une invitation à décélérer : elle indique le tempo, celui de la réflexion.

 

Elle invite à poser ou revoir les fondations de nos actions. Elle en appelle à notre intelligence, pour éviter la tentation des recettes toutes faites et rechercher ce qui fait sens.

 

Découvrez ce portrait dessiné et raconté d’Aurélie, moment de vie et simple facette d’une personne aux multiples talents.

 

 

 

« La première fois que je t’ai entendue, je me suis dit : ‘Oh la la ! Elle a le cerveau lent !’ »

 

Aurélie me rapporte les aveux d’une amie et complète en souriant : « J’ai une voix qui peut donner l’impression que ça ne tourne pas vite. En revanche, c’est drôle, je n’arrive pas à écrire lentement ! »

 

Le visage d’Aurélie à quelque chose de mature et juvénile à la fois. Y a-t-il une photo d’elle qu’elle aime particulièrement ? « Sur mon profil LinkedIn : elle n’est pas très nette mais je suis à peu près bien coiffée et je souris… C’était pendant une conférence que je donnais à l’ESSEC.

 

Curieusement, quel que soit le nombre de personnes, je ne suis pas impressionnée. C’est peut-être parce que je ne me mets pas en danger : je délivre simplement de l’information. Ce qu’on apprécie ? On me dit que je suis structurée et que je parle simplement. »

 

Aurélie aide les entreprises à se transformer et anime des ateliers et des conférences sur le design thinking. Elle a aussi écrit plusieurs livres sur le sujet. « J’aimais déjà le design comme objet. Mais en 2010, ça a été le coup de foudre : j’ai découvert que c’était une démarche globale de recherche de solutions, qui place l’humain au centre.

 

L’ambition historique de designers, c’est d’améliorer le monde. William Morris ne créait pas seulement de beaux objets à l’époque de la révolution industrielle, il s’intéressait également à l’organisation de l’entreprise.

 

Aujourd’hui, le terme « design thinking » est galvaudé. Contrairement à ce que Tim Brown a dit, tout le monde ne peut pas faire du design thinking, il s’agit d’abord d’un état d’esprit. Si l’état d’esprit n’est pas là, ça ne vaut rien. »

 

Aurélie a également écrit un livre illustré « D’un soleil à l’autre » à partir de la maladie psychique de sa mère, et qui s’adresse aux enfants dans le même cas. « Je voulais quelque chose de chaleureux, gai, lumineux, surtout pas plombant. C’est un support à la discussion, à lire à quatre mains. Avec un parent malade, tu surdéveloppes ton empathie, tu cherches à protéger ton parent malade. Je voulais mettre des mots sur ce que les enfants ressentent et leur apprendre à être un peu égoïstes. »

 

A la remise du prix coup de cœur de Ocirp Handicap chez Radio France, « c’est la première fois que je me suis sentie super mal face à une audience. Les lumières se sont braquées sur moi et tout à coup, j’étais en larmes. Je ne sais plus ce que j’ai dit, j’arrivais à peine à parler. Tout le monde a trouvé ça très émouvant. Alors que moi, je me disais : ‘Moi qui croyais m’en être sortie, je n’ai en fait rien réglé du tout !’ Et c’était aussi très intime, ce n’était pas du design thinking !

 

Mais ça m’a fait du bien. J’étais émue parce que j’avais de la reconnaissance avec ce prix, de la part de beaucoup de personnes que je ne connaissais pas.

 

Pourquoi j’ai fait ce livre ? Parce que j’avais besoin de tourner la page sur ma mère, pour m’occuper de mes enfants et parce que j’avais besoin de donner du sens à ce que j’ai vécu en m’en servant pour aider d’autres enfants.

 

Il n’y a presque rien sur le sujet pour les enfants de personnes bipolaires, or on a tous besoin d’avoir des parents structurants. Quand ce n’est pas le cas, c’est très fragilisant. J’ai appris que dans certains pays, les psychiatres demandent à voir les enfants quand un parent vient les consulter.

 

‘J’ai regardé les photos, tu n’avais pas l’air malheureuse’, m’a dit un jour ma grand mère, que j’adore. Elle n’a simplement pas compris ce que je vivais. En tout cas, elle a été pour moi un repère très important : elle est toujours très gaie, elle rigole tout le temps, elle est hyper organisée et chaleureuse. À 98 ans, elle a gardé son petit air malicieux.

 

Ce que j’ai envie de faire aujourd’hui ? Ce que j’ai envie de faire aujourd’hui ? Me former au coaching par les neurosciences appliquées, expérimenter d’autres projets en entreprises et aussi dans l’éducation, écrire d’autres livres. Bref, lancer des bouteilles à la mer. M’efforcer d’être utile, toujours à partir de mes envies.

 

Quand on fait des choses vraies, elles permettent de vraies rencontres.

 

Et pour que ce soit vrai, il faut que ça vienne de toi, que ce soit personnel. » 

Autres portraits