share

Diariatou

Paris 19e

Read the interview

Diariatou

It was Dariatou who pointed out to me the tattoo around her mouth; I hadn’t noticed it before. Still, it was a tattoo that can cost dearly: she told me that some people had gotten their mouth paralyzed from infection.

 

 

 

Many thorns wrapped around a wire are used to pierce the skin until it bleeds, then a black powder made from burnt spiders is applied. Women whose faces are tattooed this way are considered brave and who “fight like a man”. Dariatou was then 13. […]

 

She was 25 when she left Mali in 1988. In Paris, one day she found a job cleaning offices. She gets up at 4:00 in the morning, leaves at 5:30 after tidying up and preparing breakfast for the kids. She gets to Viroflay by 6:30, and leaves at 10:00 for a job at Levallois-Perret until 2:00 PM, then to Austerlitz at 3:00. Other days she goes to Massy-Palaiseau. She gets home at 8:30 in the evening.

 

“You suffer, that’s what you get. You work hard, it’s your lot.” For Dariatou, God decides what paths you will take before you’re born.

 

At age 7 she went to school where she learned French, then had to stop after two years. The eldest in a large family – whose size she prefers I do not mention, explaining that it would be bragging – she was helping her mother from the age of six.

 

To get to school, she crossed the Senegal river by swimming while holding up her school bag in a gourd. Even in the dry season, there were places where she had no footing. One day she almost drowned. The weight of her clothes, heavy with water, dragged her down but she managed to get rid of them. Other children continued to sink and adults nearby on the river bank only just managed to save them.

 

The gourds also allowed the adults to cross with their babies who they tied hand and foot to prevent any dangerous movement. In the wet season, they used pirogues.

The fields they cultivated were also on the other side of the river. “All my jobs are far away. With Sophie, it’s the first time work isn’t far.”

 

I’m a big fan of Dariatou’s chicken mafé, with her gumbo sauce. And for sure, Sophie too : with her crew of four cooks including Dariatou, she created Mam’Ayoka, the Cuisine of the World Next Door, a cooperative. (1) […]

 

Dariatou has created with the other Soninkéan women the Fede Coumba association, a solidarity network which extends to the other people and nationalities of Black Africa. Dariatou wants especially to strengthen ways to counter delinquency among youth. She also deplores the illiteracy that is too widespread and takes French courses at the J2P Cultural and Social Center. 

 

(1) That’s what grabbed me from the start: the transformation of culinary talents into perennial employment. Then what overcame me was the varied and delicious cooking! www.mamayoka.com

 

 

English translation by Ken Dymond, Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

Other portraits

Partager

Diariatou

Paris 19e

Lire l’entretien

Diariatou

C’est Diariatou qui m’a indiqué son tatouage autour de la bouche ; je n’avais pas remarqué celui-là. Pourtant, c’est un tatouage qui coûte cher : elle m’apprend que certains ont eu la bouche paralysée suite à une infection.

 

 

 

Plusieurs épines entourées d’un fil servent à piquer la peau jusqu’au sang, sur laquelle est appliquée une poudre noire composée d’arachides brûlées. Les femmes qui se font tatouer ainsi le visage sont considérées comme des femmes courageuses, qui « se battent comme un homme ». Diariatou avait alors 13 ans. […]

 

Elle a 25 ans quand elle quitte le Mali en 1988. A Paris, elle trouve un jour un travail comme femme de ménage dans des bureaux. Levée à 4h00 du matin, elle part à 5h30 après avoir passé le balai et préparé les repas pour les enfants. Arrivée à Viroflay à 6h30, elle repart à 10h00 direction Levallois-Perret jusqu’à 14h00, puis Austerlitz à 15h00. D’autres fois, elle se rend à Massy-Palaiseau. Elle est de retour chez elle à 20h30.

 

« Tu souffres, c’est ton sens. Tu gagnes beaucoup, c’est ton sens. » Pour Diariatou, Dieu décide de ce que seront nos vies avant même notre naissance.

 

Elle est allée à l’école à sept ans, où elle a appris le français, puis a dû s’arrêter au bout de deux ans. Aînée d’une grande famille – dont elle préfère que je ne précise pas le nombre, m’expliquant que ce serait trop de vantardise -, elle aidait sa mère dès l’âge de six ans.

 

Pour se rendre à l’école, elle traversait le fleuve Sénégal à la nage en poussant devant elle son sac posé dans une calebasse. Même à la saison basse, il y avait des endroits où elle n’avait pas pied. Un jour, elle a failli se noyer. Le poids de ses habits, alourdis par l’eau, l’entraînait vers le fond, mais elle a réussi à s’en débarrasser. D’autres enfants continuaient de s’enfoncer et des adultes qui se trouvaient près de la rive les ont sauvés de justesse.

 

Les calebasses permettaient aussi aux adultes de faire traverser avec eux les bébés, dont ils attachaient les mains et les pieds pour éviter tout mouvement dangereux. A la saison haute, on utilisait les pirogues.

 

Les champs à cultiver étaient également de l’autre côté du fleuve. « Tous mes travails, c’est loin. Avec Sophie, première fois que travail pas loin. »

 

Je suis fan du mafé de poulet de Diariatou, avec sa sauce aux gombos. A n’en pas douter, Sophie aussi : avec son équipe de quatre cuisinières dont Diariatou fait partie, elle a créé Mam’Ayoka, La cuisine du monde à côté, une société coopérative à intérêt collectif. (1) […]

 

Diariatou a créé avec d’autres femmes soninkées l’association Fede Coumba, un réseau de solidarité qui s’étend à d’autres ethnies et nationalités d’Afrique Noire. Diariatou souhaite notamment renforcer les actions permettant de lutter contre la délinquance des jeunes. Elle déplore aussi l’analphabétisme trop répandu et suit des cours de français au Centre Social et Culturel J2P.

 

(1) Ce qui m’a d’abord séduite : la transformation de talents culinaires en emplois pérennes. Ce qui m’a ensuite conquise : les plats, variés et délicieux ! www.mamayoka.com

 

Autres portraits