share

Djamila

Paris 19e

Read the interview

Djamila

Djamila was thirteen years old and her uncle was looking for someone to marry his son. “In fact, when I arrived, it wasn’t for his son, but for his friend’s son.”

 

 

 

The friend looked at the three sisters and said: “Djamila is the one for my son.”

 

Djamila explains to me that she comes from a family where women don’t work. Once married, while her husband Saïd “sells at the market,” she does “all the work in the house, as well as outside: the wheat, the olives, the garden…work, work, work.”

 

The marriage lasted two years and Djamila was pregnant two times with one pregnancy of twins. I simply know that the babies didn’t have the time to live…

 

I ask Djamila if she was able to forgive. “It has been a while. It’s not good, to always be like that…”. I learn that Saïd and his family asked for forgiveness. “He has kids, I have kids, that’s that. I forgave.”

 

Djamila arrived from Algeria in 1985, was remarried and gave birth to two boys and one girl. They lived for 11 years in a studio on Flandre Street before moving to Colette Magny Street.

 

“I didn’t speak any French, not even bonjour.” If Djamila and I are able to understand each other today it is particularly thanks to the courses she took at the Espace 19 association. She also participates in theatre workshops, cooking, sewing and computer classes… “They are very nice to me. With them, it’s as if I’m home.” 

 

English translation by Nathalie Reyes, Salem State University, Salem, Massachusetts USA

Other portraits

partager

Djamila

Paris 19e

Lire l’entretien

Djamila

Djamila avait treize ans et son oncle cherchait quelqu’un pour marier son fils. « En fait, quand je suis arrivée, ce n’était pas pour son fils, mais pour le fils d’un ami ». L’ami a regardé les trois sœurs et a dit : « Djamila, c’est pour mon fils ».

 

 

 

Djamila m’explique qu’elle vient d’une famille où les femmes ne travaillaient pas. Une fois mariée, pendant que son mari Saïd « vend au marché », elle fait « tout à la maison, même dehors : le blé, les olives, le jardin… Travaille tout-tout-tout. »

 

Le mariage a duré deux ans et Djamila a été enceinte deux fois, dont une grossesse gémellaire. Je sais simplement que les bébés n’ont pas eu le temps de vivre…

 

Je demande à Djamila si elle a pu pardonner. « Ça fait maintenant longtemps. C’est pas bien, toujours rester comme ça… ». Et j’apprends que Saïd et sa famille ont demandé pardon.  « Lui a des enfants, moi j’ai des enfants, c’est fini. J’ai pardonné. »

 

Djamila est arrivée d’Algérie en 1985, s’est remariée et a donné naissance à deux garçons et une fille. Ils ont vécu onze ans dans un studio rue de Flandre avant de déménager rue Colette Magny.

 

« Je ne parlais pas du tout français, même pas bonjour. » Si Djamila et moi arrivons à nous comprendre aujourd’hui, c’est notamment grâce aux cours qu’elle a suivis avec l’association Espace 19. Elle participe également aux ateliers de théâtre, de cuisine, de couture, d’informatique… « Ils sont très gentils avec moi. Chez eux, c’est comme chez moi. » 

 

Rencontre réalisée en avril 2016

Autres portraits