share

Emmanuel

“We weren’t able to work together. Individually, most of us had the skills but I realized that it was not enough for a project to succeed. A number of us wanted it to work, but the collaborative venture was a failure…

 

So I decided to go to work on understanding the interpersonal issues between the different organizers of a project.”

 

 

 

And that’s how a student with an electro-technical diploma became the psychologist known as Emmanuel; he was also among the first to work with the police.

 

“In my Master’s program in clinical psychopathology, back then, there weren’t many boys in the field. I had not yet earned my diploma and I was reaching the age limit for military service, which was then compulsory. Rather than doing it just anywhere, I chose to join the National Police, doing training and recruitment for the National Police Intervention Groups: embassy guards, bodyguards for political figures, investigative brigades…

 

Then after three years as a recruit trainer in the North, in 1997, I became the 3rd psychologist to integrate the operational psychological support service of the Police, a program created following the St. Michael attacks.

 

Today there are 82 of us in all of France. Over the years, my work has been consistently increasing. During periods of reinforcement, during the attacks, for example, we work in teams, but normally, we each serve in separate sectors. I sometimes miss teamwork when I’m in situations that are difficult for me to deal with alone.

 

We are there to support the police officers in circumstances where they themselves are potentially traumatized, and we often have to improvise. Basically, it’s like their job: when they start a day, they never know what kind of intervention they will have to do. They have to adapt, so they appreciate people who are adaptable.

 

I enjoy the challenge of this job. When I started in the police, calling in psychologists was a sign of weakness. To bring a human side to that environment has always interested me. Gradually, and against all odds, we were accepted in this place where psychologists embodied something unacceptable: I personified the fact that there may be fragility in a population that ​​essentially values strength.

 

The message we are trying to convey: being strong means being able to get help.

 

However, sometimes when I’m working and I doubt that I’ll be successful, I must go beyond my own assumptions…

 

One of the good memories I have of this work is of a police officer who had a violent family history. This man always kept his guard up. He was also had a complex about his limited academic and cultural background. Gradually, with writing and drawing, he allowed himself to create things he would have never thought possible, and he came out of his depression. Today, he also cooks a lot, and his team loves the cakes he brings to work!

 

The gratitude of the police officers has pushed me to continue and to innovate. I want to train myself in other management techniques that have evolved along with research in neuroscience, techniques that allow for relief during stressful work periods.

 

Practicing my profession with the police is a way for me to connect with my family legacy. My grandfather was a cavalry officer. In a world of uniforms and authority, he was stoic and uncomfortable with his emotions. As a psychologist, I create a bridge between an environment where it’s difficult to express emotions and the sensitivity, something that my grandfather did not have access to.

 

He was also in the Resistance. Instead of insisting on all or nothing, I just bring about this little shift which makes emotions a strength.

 

At his funeral, during my military service, when others threw flowers on the coffin, I threw my epaulettes. I told myself then that I would continue on, in my own way.”

 

 

 

English translation by Sam Stickney, Salem State University, Salem, Massachusetts USA

Other portraits

partager

Emmanuel

« Nous n’avons pas réussi à travailler ensemble. Individuellement, la plupart d’entre nous avait les compétences mais j’ai pris conscience qu’elles n’étaient pas suffisantes pour qu’un projet puisse aboutir. On est plusieurs à l’avoir eu, mais c’était un échec, cette épreuve collective…

 

Alors j’ai décidé d’aller travailler dans la partie relationnelle entre les différents protagonistes d’un projet. »

 

 

 

Et voilà comment d’un bac électrotechnique naît la vocation de psychologue d’Emmanuel ; il fera aussi partie des premiers à travailler dans la Police.

 

« En master 2 de psychopathologie clinique, à l’époque, nous sommes peu de garçons dans cette filière. Or je n’avais pas encore passé le diplôme et j’atteignais la limite d’âge pour le service militaire, qui était alors obligatoire. Plutôt que de le faire n’importe où, j’ai choisi de rejoindre la formation de la Police nationale et le recrutement des groupes d’intervention : gardes d’ambassade, gardes du corps de personnalités politiques, brigades d’enquête…

 

Puis après trois ans comme formateur des élèves gardiens dans le Nord, en 1997, je deviens le troisième psychologue à intégrer le service de soutien psychologique opérationnel dans la Police, créé suite aux attentats de Saint Michel.

 

Aujourd’hui nous sommes 82 pour toute la France. J’ai toujours vu mon activité augmenter au cours de ces années. Dans les périodes de renfort, pendant les attentats par exemple, nous travaillons à plusieurs mais au quotidien nous avons chacun des secteurs très éloignés. Le travail en équipe me manque parfois dans des situations qui ne sont pas évidentes à prendre en charge seul.

 

Nous sommes là en appui aux policiers dans des circonstances où eux-mêmes sont potentiellement traumatisés et nous devons souvent improviser. Au fond c’est à l’image de leur travail : quand ils commencent une journée, ils ne savent jamais quel type d’intervention ils vont faire. Ils doivent s’adapter alors ils apprécient qu’on soit adaptable.

 

J’aime le défi que représente ce travail : quand j’ai commencé dans la Police, faire appel aux psychologues, c’était faire preuve de faiblesse. Apporter un côté humain dans ce milieu-là m’a toujours intéressé. Progressivement et contre toute attente, nous avons été acceptés là où le psychologue incarnait quelque chose d’inacceptable : je personnifiais le fait qu’il puisse y avoir des fragilités dans une population où les valeurs tournent essentiellement autour de la force.

 

Le message qu’on essaie de faire passer : être fort, c’est être capable de se faire aider.

 

Cependant sur certaines rencontres, je dois moi-même passer au-delà de mes a priori quand je pense que je n’y arriverai jamais.

 

Un des bons souvenirs du travail d’accompagnement, c’est avec un policier dont l’histoire familiale était violente. Il s’était vraiment blindé. Il était aussi complexé par son niveau scolaire et culturel. Peu à peu, avec l’écriture et le dessin, il s’est autorisé à créer des choses dont il ne se serait jamais cru capable et s’est sorti de la dépression. Aujourd’hui, il cuisine aussi beaucoup et les gens de son service se régalent bien avec les gâteaux qu’il apporte au travail !

 

La reconnaissance de la part des policiers m’a poussé à continuer et à innover. J’ai envie de me former dans d’autres techniques de prise en charge qui ont évolué en même temps que la recherche en neurosciences, pour permettre un soulagement dans des échéances assez brèves.

 

Pratiquer mon métier dans la Police est une façon de m’inscrire dans une filiation ; mon grand-père était officier de cavalerie. C’était un homme très mal à l’aise avec ses émotions, dans un monde fait d’uniformes et de relations d’autorité. Alors je crée un pont entre un milieu fortement marqué par la difficulté à exprimer ses émotions et cette sensibilité à laquelle mon grand-père n’a pas eu accès.

 

Il était aussi dans la résistance. Au lieu de persister dans quelque chose où ça doit passer à tout prix, j’apporte ce petit décalage pour faire des émotions une force.

 

A son enterrement, pendant mon service militaire, là où d’autres ont lancé des fleurs sur le cercueil, j’ai lancé mes épaulettes. Je me suis dit que je continuerais quelque chose, à ma façon. »

Autres portraits