Being and becoming

Voir l’entretien

Being and becoming

“One day, I told myself something was missing: I was organizing events, everyone was having fun… but I was still a little hungry. It was missing a “go to bed less stupid” aspect.

 

I was able to travel very young thanks to summer camps. We discovered Ardèche, which I really liked, and also Saint-Hilaire, La Rochelle… I learned about horseback riding, mountain climbing, caving. On a school field trip, I discovered the history of Venice and its modes of transportation on the water. Later, visiting other countries like England or Belgium, I learned that people who are stigmatized in one country can be valued in another, that we could enter a neighborhood and be greeted by people who didn’t know us. Someone says hello to you, you wonder if something’s going on, but no, they’re saying hello, that’s all!

 

I also discovered my own preconceptions. In a small village near Rome where there were very few black people, I was expecting to be ignored or even rejected… But the opposite happened! We were very well-received.

 

Our preconceptions about the other – a person, a country, a city, a subject – are often related to a lack of knowledge about the other, the lack of a relationship with the other.

 

Those experiences and encounters have shaped me. It’s with all those trips in mind that I returned to Paris, and one day I spoke to some people with similar backgrounds about the importance of travel to shape oneself, through meeting the other. With the desire to share that kind of experience, we created Open Mind.

 

 

We set up events like artistic performances, short trips, cultural experiences, such as a visit to a photography exhibit, a museum, or even lectures followed by debates. Culture is an infinite journey to meet new people who think differently from us.

 

We also help little brothers – figuratively – who are students or high schoolers, who are wondering about life, by supporting them in their professional and scholastic paths.

 

Open Mind is a movement of thought because thought is the starting point of everything. Open Mind is being and becoming.

 

I’m thinking, for example, of an unemployed person who ends up becoming the head of a company, or this person who was introverted and became a lecturer, of that young person who comes from modest means and who studies at the highest level, of this other person who never had any idea what live acoustic music was like, who discovers it, likes it, and decides to make it one of his favorite pastimes…

 

And I think of the neighborhood kid in gym clothes that we are amazed to see playing piano in public. What? Is that only reserved for one social class? Maybe it’s more difficult where this kid comes from, but these are things that can exist. I really love the beauty of that counterpoint!”

 

English translation by Kristen Burgess, Salem State University, 2021
 
Meeting with Francis, October 2020, for “Regards de la Muette”
 
Read more

partager

Être et devenir

Lire l’entretien

Être et devenir

« Un jour, je me suis dit qu’il manquait quelque chose : j’organisais des événements, tout le monde s’amusait… mais je restais un peu sur ma faim. Ça manquait d’un côté ‘se coucher moins bête’.

 

J’ai pu voyager très tôt grâce aux colonies de vacances : on a découvert l’Ardèche que j’apprécie carrément ou encore Saint-Hilaire, La Rochelle… J’ai acquis des notions d’équitation, d’escalade, de spéléologie. Un voyage scolaire m’a permis de découvrir l’histoire de Venise et ses modes de transport sur l’eau. En visitant plus tard d’autres pays comme l’Angleterre ou la Belgique, j’ai appris que des personnes stigmatisées dans un pays pouvaient être mises en valeur dans un autre, qu’on pouvait arriver dans un quartier et être salué par des gens qu’on ne connaît pas. On te dit bonjour, tu te demandes ce qu’il se passe mais non, l’autre dit bonjour, c’est tout !

 

J’ai découvert aussi mes propres a priori : dans un petit village à côté de Rome où il y avait très peu de noirs, je m’attendais à être ignoré voire rejeté… Alors que c’est tout le contraire qui est arrivé ! Nous avons été très bien accueillis.

 

Nos idées préconçues vis-à-vis de l’autre – une personne, une ville, un pays, une discipline – sont souvent liées à la méconnaissance de l’autre, au manque de rapport à l’autre.

 

Ces expériences et ces rencontres m’ont construit. C’est la tête remplie de ces voyages que je rentrais en France et un jour, j’ai échangé avec des personnes aux parcours similaires sur l’importance du voyage. Avec la même envie de partager ce type d’expérience, nous avons créé Open Mind.

 

 

Nous mettons en place des événements qui peuvent être des représentations artistiques, des séjours, de la médiation culturelle, comme la visite d’une exposition de photographie, d’un musée, ou encore des conférences suivies de débats. La culture est un voyage infini à la rencontre de nouvelles personnes qui pensent à l’opposé de là où nous sommes.

 

Nous aidons aussi ce petit frère – au sens figuré – qui peut être un étudiant ou un lycéen qui s’interroge sur la vie – en l’accompagnant dans son parcours professionnel et scolaire.

 

Open Mind, c’est un mouvement de pensée ; la pensée est au départ de tout. Open Mind, c’est être, et devenir.

 

Je pense par exemple à ce chômeur qui finit par prendre la tête d’une entreprise, à cette personne qui était introvertie et qui devient conférencière, à ce jeune issu d’un milieu modeste et qui fait de grandes études, à cet autre qui n’avait aucune idée de ce qu’est un live acoustique, qui découvre, apprécie et décide d’en faire un de ses divertissements favoris…

 

Et je pense à ce jeune de quartier en tenue de sport qu’on est stupéfait de voir jouer du piano en public. Quoi ! C’est réservé uniquement à une classe sociale ? C’est peut-être plus difficile dans celle d’où provient ce jeune mais ce sont des choses qui peuvent exister. J’aime beaucoup la beauté de ce contre-pied ! »

 

Plus d’informations sur Instagram @weare_openmind
Contact : contact@weareopenmind.fr