share

Marie-Claire

Saint-Denis

Read the interview

Marie-Claire

Granny, are we gonna go zoom-zoom on the bus?” To her grandson’s great delight, Marie-Claire regularly takes him to go for a ride on the 356. All the store brands that file by in front of the bus are proudly and systematically named out loud by the boy.

 

 

 

When you die, Granny, will you see me? Because you’ll be in heaven!

–Yes. And as soon as you start to do something foolish, you’ll know that I’m watching you.

–Oh, yeah! … And will I see you?

–No, but you will know that I can see you!

 

For his birthday, he made a wish. I told him he had to keep it to himself, in order for his wish to come true. ‘But still, I want to tell it to you.’ And he explained to me that as my father and mother were dead, he wanted me to find them in heaven. […]

 

That was well before, but the fire made things worse.” A year and a half ago, the smoke from the fire in the parking lot climbed up the floors; luckily, the residents all got out safe and sound. “With the neighbors, you regret not having spoken to each other sooner. Now, when we run into each other, sometimes we make plans. And, boom! We’re having coffee. […]

 

Everyone says: ‘Yeesss, the Plaine Saint-Denis, the Plaine Saint-Denis…’ but me, I’ll never leave. […] My sister lives in Mayenne: to buy bread, she has to travel 5 kilometers! Here, I can grow old peacefully.”

 

Marie-Claire is never outdone when it comes to being useful. Her passion for secondhand goods is a opportunity to fit out the neighbors: at one person’s place the “immaculate microwave” bargain from four years ago, in another’s a fridge and a hot plate that were like new. “My gas cooker, I bought it for thirty euros. The oven never worked. It’s a Rosières, almost ten years old, it’s still there… […]

 

Sent to boarding school between the ages of five and fourteen with the Franciscan Sisters then the Sisters of Saint Vincent de Paul, Marie-Claire learned early on how to get around the rules: “To avoid kitchen chores on Sundays, I used to go to all three masses with the priest. Thursdays—in those days we had time off Thursdays instead of Wednesdays—I’d do anything to avoid mending socks. Anything that’s feminine, forget it!”  […]

 

I finished my program of studies with a kick in the ass and staples on the head. He didn’t do it on purpose: you had to see what happened!” Not one to be resentful, Marie-Claire: the teacher had however sent her head-first into a cast-iron radiator. “The Sisters of Saint Vincent de Paul, they were really great with us: when my little sister Christiane died at age 23 after giving birth, they were there. Yet, they didn’t have an easy life.

 

I was mad at my mother for having sent me to boarding school. It wasn’t until later that I understood.” Marie-Claire’s mother, divorced, traveled by moped each day from Fontenay-Saint-Père to Saint-Germain-en-Laye (45 kilometers, despite rain or wind) where she “did the 3 to 8” as a nurse’s aid in the maternity ward.

 

She was a pillar, my mother. When she died, everyone was there, even the director. 55 years old, uterus cancer. My father: prostate cancer. They had had seven children, five girls and two boys. He had six more later, and maybe others I don’t know of.

 

I always believed that I was the most unhappy, but I changed my mind when my brother came back from Brittany on foot.

–How’s that, on foot?

–On foot, I tell you.

 

If there were someone up there, there wouldn’t be so much injustice. In any case, everyone has the right to think and do as he pleases. I was married for seven years to a Muslim. He never tried to convert me. […] I just went to Ramadan with him out of respect.” 

 

 

 

English translation by Elizabeth Blood, Salem State University, Salem, Massachusetts USA

Other portraits

Partager

Marie-Claire

Saint-Denis

Lire l’entretien

Marie-Claire

« Mamie, on va méné-méné en bus ? » Pour la plus grande joie de son petit-fils, Marie-Claire l’emmène régulièrement faire un tour avec le 356. Toutes les marques des magasins qui défilent devant le bus sont fièrement et systématiquement épelées à voix haute par le garçon.

 

 

 

– Quand tu seras morte Mamie, tu me verras ? Parce que tu seras au ciel !

– Oui. Et dès que tu commenceras à faire une bêtise, tu sauras que je te regarde.

– Ah bon !… Et moi je te verrai ?

– Non, mais tu sauras que moi, je peux te voir !

 

« Pour son anniversaire, il a fait un vœu. Je lui ai dit qu’il devait le garder pour lui, pour que son souhait se réalise. ‘Quand même, j’ai envie de te le dire.’ Et il m’a expliqué que comme mon père et ma mère étaient morts, il voulait que je les retrouve au ciel. […]

 

C’était déjà bien avant, mais ça s’est accentué avec l’incendie. » Il y a un an et demi, les fumées du parking en feu montaient dans les étages ; les habitants sont sortis heureusement sains et saufs. « Avec des voisins, on regrette même de ne pas s’être parlé plus tôt. Maintenant, quand on se croise, parfois on s’invite. Hop ! On prend un petit café. […]

 

Tout le monde dit : “ Ouiiii, la Plaine, la Plaine… ” mais moi, je partirai pas. […] Ma sœur habite en Mayenne : pour aller chercher le pain, elle doit faire 5 kilomètres ! Ici, je peux vieillir tranquille. »

 

Marie-Claire n’est pas en reste quand il s’agit de se rendre utile. Sa passion pour les brocantes est l’occasion d’équiper les voisins : chez l’un, le « micro-ondes nickel » chiné il y a quatre ans, chez l’autre un frigo et des plaques électriques comme neufs. « Ma gazinière, je l’ai payée trente euros. Le four n’avait jamais servi. C’est une Rosières, ça va faire dix ans, elle est toujours là… »

 

Mise en pension de cinq à quatorze ans chez les Sœurs Franciscaines puis les Sœurs Saint Vincent de Paul, Marie-Claire sait très tôt dénicher les bons plans : « Pour éviter la corvée de pluches le dimanche, j’allais aux trois messes avec le curé. Le jeudi – avant on avait le jeudi au lieu du mercredi – je faisais tout pour éviter le raccommodage des chaussettes. Tout ce qui est féminin, laisse tomber ! […]

 

« J’ai passé mon certificat d’études avec un coup de pied au cul et des agrafes sur la tête. Il l’a pas fait exprès : fallait voir le phénomène ! » Pas rancunière, Marie-Claire : le professeur l’avait pourtant envoyée la tête la première dans un radiateur en fonte. « Les Sœurs Saint Vincent de Paul, elles ont été très chouettes avec nous : quand ma petite sœur Christiane est morte à 23 ans des suites d’un accouchement, elles étaient là. Et pourtant, on leur a pas fait la vie belle.

 

J’en voulais à ma mère de m’avoir mise en pension. C’est plus tard que j’ai compris. »

 

La mère de Marie-Claire, divorcée, se rendait chaque jour en mobylette de Fontenay-Saint-Père à Saint-Germain-en-Laye (45 kilomètres, qu’il pleuve ou qu’il vente) où « elle faisait les 3-8 » comme aide soignante dans une maternité. « C’était un monument, ma mère. Quand elle est décédée, tout le monde était là, même le directeur. 55 ans, cancer de l’utérus. Mon père : cancer de la prostate. Ils ont eu sept enfants dont cinq filles et deux garçons. Lui en a refait six de l’autre côté, et d’autres peut-être que je ne connais pas.

 

J’ai toujours cru que j’étais la plus malheureuse mais j’ai changé d’avis quand mon frère est revenu à pied de Bretagne.

– Comment ça, à pied ?

– A pied, je vous dis.

 

Si y en avait un là-haut, y aurait pas autant d’injustice. En tous cas, chacun a le droit de penser et faire ce qu’il veut. J’ai été mariée pendant sept ans avec un musulman. Il n’a jamais cherché à me convertir. […] Je l’ai simplement accompagné pour le Ramadan, par respect. » 

Autres portraits