share

Philippe

“Imagine: Mr. B is a large man of African descent. He has a very lofty opinion of what culture is and at the same time, one may say that he underestimates himself: ‘My older children studied…’ And he stuttered.

 

I was on his jury for his first year Master’s project. He had chosen as his topic the company where, in addition to dealing with the customers, he was asked to box things up and clean…A horribly poor job.

 

He presents us an over-the-top thing, full of stuttering, backed by no research… Then I say to him: ‘ Mr. B you have to honestly answer me the question I will ask you: in your work, Mr. B do you get bored stiff?’ He replies ‘Yes’… I ask him a second question: ‘Do you feel undervalued?’ He replies ‘Yes.’

 

‘You know, in your paper, your presentation of the context, it’s not bad… but it’s sad. And then your research, there is very little in it because in there is very little to study in your work… It is June, there is the possibility of a second round in September: if you want, we can see how to prepare together.’

 

He accepts, we schedule a meeting, and I explain to him what he has to do, how, why, etc.

 

I meet up with him two months later…and then, at the beginning of the thesis defense, I find a real pro in front of me! He presents his study, it’s well organized…but it falls apart in the final minutes. Of course, this is the part where his talks about his business.

 

The jury returns after deliberating and I say to Mr. B: ‘In the first few minutes, sir, you didn’t have a stutter. But as soon as you spoke about your business, you lost your confidence…I will award you your degree on the first year, you deserve it. But I’m going to request something of you that you’re not going to like: it’s that you don’t in roll in M2 (second year of the Master’s) this year.’

 

He looks at me: ‘But…I already enrolled!’

 

I know, but I’m asking you, if you wouldn’t mind, don’t enroll.’

 

He asks me why.

 

‘I think you need to change companies. I have no problem with your reasoning and intelligence, but you aren’t in a situation where you are reassured, and when you’re not comfortable, it shows, sir, you stutter. Now, doing the Master’s level 2 is already difficult but, on top of that, the company where you are today is killing you. If you have to stay at your company to put food on the table, find another one for your thesis subject.’

 

He accepted and ended up completing his thesis two years later. That time, I wasn’t on the jury because I was in the process of leaving the institution.

 

At my retirement party, I see Mr. B’s large figure arrive. And he falls into my arms and tells me: ‘I wouldn’t have gotten this far without you!’

 

He was not the most outgoing of my students, he has been through a lot, and I don’t know what has become of him…But I hold a particularly fond memory of him.

 

Often people who arrive at CNAM (International Institute of Management) have one idea in mind: to obtain a diploma in order to reset their lives. They feel like they missed a step because they weren’t from a good family, they were grieving or breaking up, or don’t have enough money, etc.

 

Every year, I used to tell my students that the diploma is not the final goal of what you come for when you have experience: the route is not all the same as those of other graduates, because what you end up discovering here is a way forward in life.”

 

Rencontre réalisée en octobre 2019

 

 

 

Thank you Mr. B for your response:

 

“Do you follow of soccer at all? When I see the Liverpool coach—Jürgen Klopp—I think of Mr. Jacob! He knew how to rally people, to bring the best out of everyone. Mr. Jacob also has the gift of communication, and then he is frank in what he tells you. In fact, he is human.

 

Although he hadn’t experienced my African culture, he knew how to put himself in my place when I arrived in a new environment when I needed to get my bearings. He didn’t judge me, he reached out to me. He understood my struggles and gave me advice so that I could go all the way, and that is magical.

 

You know, at CNAM (International Institute of Management) there is diversity. And you could tell he was interested in one culture or another. He also knew how to joke around, he made things understandable. You have to be educated to know how to make this connection. He knew how to capture our attention and took an interest in us. It’s one of the great qualities that any good teacher needs to have: to know how to manage diversity and he has this ability. When we knew that it was Mr. Jacob who was teaching the courses, we didn’t want to fall behind and we knew that we were going to laugh!”

 

 

 

English translation by Emma Coady, Salem State University, May 2020

Other portraits

Partager

Philippe

« Imagine : monsieur B est un homme grand d’origine africaine. Il a une très haute idée de ce qu’est la culture et en même temps, on dirait qu’il se sous-estime : ‘Mes aînés ont fait les études…’ Et il bégayait.

 

J’étais dans son jury pour son projet de Master première année. Il avait choisi comme sujet la société où, au-delà de la relation avec les clients, on lui demandait de faire de la mise en carton et du nettoyage… Un boulot d’une pauvreté terrible.

 

Il nous présente un truc grandiloquent, plein de bégaiements, appuyé sur aucune enquête… Alors je lui dis : ‘Monsieur B, vous allez me répondre très sincèrement à la question que je vais vous poser : dans votre travail, Monsieur, vous vous emmerdez ?’ Il me dit ‘oui’… Je lui pose une deuxième question : ‘Vous vous sentez dévalorisé ?’ Il me dit ‘oui’.

 

‘Vous savez, dans votre mémoire, votre présentation du contexte, c’est pas mal… mais c’est triste. Et puis votre enquête, il n’y a pas grand-chose dedans parce que dans votre travail, il n’y a pas grand-chose à enquêter… Nous sommes en juin, il y a la possibilité d’un deuxième tour en septembre : si vous voulez, nous allons voir ensemble comment vous préparer.’

 

Il accepte, nous prenons rendez-vous et je lui explique ce qu’il doit faire, comment, pourquoi, etc.

 

Je le retrouve deux mois plus tard… et là, au début de la soutenance, j’ai un vrai pro en face de moi ! Il présente son étude, c’est bien organisé… mais ça part en capilotade sur les dernières minutes. Bien entendu, c’est la partie où il parle de son entreprise.

 

Le jury revient après avoir délibéré et je dis à monsieur B : ‘Dans les premières minutes, Monsieur, vous n’aviez pas de bégaiement. Mais dès que vous parliez de votre entreprise, vous perdiez votre assurance… Je vais vous diplômer sur la première année, vous le méritez. Mais je vais vous demander quelque chose qui va beaucoup vous embêter : c’est de ne pas vous inscrire en M2 cette année.’

 

Il me regarde: ‘Mais… Je suis déjà inscrit !’

 

‘Je sais, mais je vous demande, si vous le voulez bien, de ne pas vous inscrire.’

 

Il me demande pourquoi.

 

‘Je pense que vous avez besoin de changer d’entreprise. Je n’ai aucun problème avec votre mode de raisonnement et votre intelligence, mais vous n’êtes pas dans une situation où vous vous sentez rassuré, et quand vous n’êtes pas rassuré, ça se voit, Monsieur, vous bégayez. Or faire le Master II, c’est déjà difficile mais, en plus, la société dans laquelle vous êtes aujourd’hui est une souffrance. Si pour des raisons alimentaires, vous devez rester dans votre entreprise, trouvez-en une autre pour votre sujet de mémoire.’

 

Il a accepté et a fini par valider son mémoire deux ans après. Cette fois-là, je n’étais pas dans son jury parce que j’étais en train de quitter l’institution.

 

À l’occasion de mon pot de départ, je vois arriver cette grande carcasse de Monsieur B. Et le voilà qui me tombe dans les bras et me dit : ‘Je ne serais pas allé si loin sans vous !’

 

Il n’était sans doute pas le plus flamboyant de mes élèves, il en a bavé, je ne sais pas ce qu’il est devenu… Mais je garde de lui un souvenir particulièrement émouvant.

 

Souvent les gens qui arrivent au CNAM ont une idée en tête : passer un diplôme pour rétablir l’équilibre. Ils ont l’impression qu’ils ont raté une marche parce qu’ils n’étaient pas dans la bonne famille, qu’ils ont eu un deuil ou une rupture, ou pas assez d’argent, etc.

 

Chaque année, j’avais l’habitude de dire à mes élèves que le diplôme n’est pas la finalité de ce qu’on vient chercher quand on a de l’expérience : les parcours ne sont pas les mêmes que ceux des diplômés de la formation initiale, car ce qu’on finit par trouver ici, c’est un chemin de vie. » 

 

Rencontre réalisée en octobre 2019

 

 

 

Merci à monsieur B pour son témoignage :

 

« Vous suivez un peu le foot ? Quand je vois le coach de Liverpool – Jürgen Klopp – , je pense à monsieur Jacob ! Il a su fédérer les énergies, tirer le maximum de chacun. Monsieur Jacob a aussi le don de transmettre, et puis il est franc dans ce qu’il te dit. En fait, il est humain.

 

Il n’a pourtant pas la culture africaine mais il a su se mettre à ma place quand j’arrivais dans un nouvel environnement où j’avais besoin de repères. Lui ne m’a pas jugé, il m’a tendu la main. Il a su cerner mes difficultés et m’a donné les conseils pour que je puisse aller au bout, et ça c’est magique.

 

Vous savez, au CNAM il y a de la diversité. Et on sentait qu’il s’intéressait à telle ou telle culture. Il savait aussi plaisanter, il banalisait le truc. Il faut être cultivé pour savoir faire ce lien. Il savait capter notre attention et s’intéressait à nous. C’est une des qualités que tout bon enseignant doit avoir : savoir faire avec la diversité et lui avait cette capacité. Quand on savait que c’était monsieur Jacob qui donnait les cours, on n’avait pas envie de perdre le fil et on savait qu’on allait rigoler ! »

Autres portraits