share

Ryad

Saint-Denis

Read the interview

Ryad

I didn’t see Ryad: to begin with it was the kids that I heard calling him. […] Ryad is tall, strong and willingly acts as their form of transportation: each one has a turn, head down and laughing, as Ryad continues to move forward unbothered.

 

Ryad is 19 years old. His parents moved from the Landy quarter near Aubervilliers when he was 2 years old. He was too young to remember the construction of the Stade de France. Yet he saw another vast and empty lot a few steps from his building, where we go for a walk: today it’s an entire neighborhood where brand new office buildings are popping up. As Akim’s father says, it’s a mini-Defense: very calm on the weekend except when people leave after sporting events or concerts, when the cafes and restaurants prepare themselves to welcome the waves of fans and spectators. […]

 

After his parents’ separation, his mother was able to count on support in the building, like the concierge who helped Ryad do his homework. I hesitate on the spelling of the concierge’s name.

-How do you spell Joannick?

-I’m not sure. In fact, I’ve always called her ‘Tata Jo’.

 

Tata Jo resides in the country now and Ryad stays in contact by phone. In his apartment building, “there is a togetherness, a respect between the young and the old.” […]

 

He’s a sporty geek: swimming, athletics, bodybuilding, combat sports which explain his strong build. A geek who repairs drones and shows them to kids – a big brother that little boys dream about: “When I saw a robotics workshop organized in the building, I thought ‘why not?’ I asked the concierge what it was and I proposed showing the new technologies to the kids.” […]

 

Ryad doesn’t only repair drones but he makes them himself. Does the building hide some kind of 2016 version of Steve Jobs’ garage? I start to imagine a room transformed into a R&D workshop. Yet I don’t want to let myself be impressed: “Well, if I want to make myself a drone, what do I need?” Confident, Ryad gives me the recipe: “4 motors, 1 connection system, 1 mother board, a lever, a balancing system, and after, you have to program it.” Eh…I see what a lever looks like, but the rest…Where did you learn all that? “By myself, on the internet and from books.” […]

 

After our encounter, Ryad went home to work on a project for hybrid cars. Nothing extraordinary, until I discovered that in fact he’s working on a car that rolls…and flies. This time, I imagine the whole apartment taken over by his projects with Ryad’s mother sleeping in the bathtub, but her eyes filled with love. Maybe I’m a little overly excited? For the moment, Ryad is working on a miniature model. Everything in its time…

 

At the moment we were about to part ways, we passed by a car that went silent as it stopped at the lights. Eager to not be outdone, I say: “Well there you have it! A hybrid car!”

 

-“That? It’s simply stalled.” Ryad answered softly, while the kids were already running towards him. 

 

 

 

English translation by Nathalie Reyes, Salem State University, Salem, Massachusetts USA

Other portraits

partager

Ryad

Saint-Denis

Lire l’entretien

Ryad

Je n’ai pas vu Ryad : ce sont d’abord les enfants que j’ai entendu l’appeler. […] Ryad est grand, costaud et fait volontiers office de manège ambulant : chacun a droit à son tour, tête en bas et hilare, pendant que Ryad imperturbable continue d’avancer.

 

 

 

Ryad a 19 ans. Ses parents ont déménagé du quartier du Landy côtéAubervilliers lorsqu’il avait 2 ans. Il était trop petit pour se souvenir de la construction du Stade de France. Mais il a vu un autre terrain vaste et nu à quelques pas de la résidence, où nous partons nous balader : c’est aujourd’hui un quartier entier où se dressent des immeubles de bureaux flambant neufs. Comme le dit le père d’Akim, c’est une mini-Défense : très calme le week-end à l’exception des sorties de match ou de concerts, quand les cafés et restaurants se préparent à accueillir les vagues de supporters et de spectateurs. […]

 

Après la séparation de ses parents, sa mère a pu compter sur des soutiens dans la résidence, comme la gardienne qui aidait Ryad à faire ses devoirs. J’hésite sur l’orthographe du prénom de la gardienne :

– Comment s’écrit Joannick ?

– Je n’en suis pas certain. En fait, je l’ai toujours appelée « Tata Jo ».

 

Tata Jo se repose maintenant à la campagne et Ryad garde le contact par téléphone. Dans la résidence, « il y a une convivialité, un respect entre jeunes et vieux. » […]

 

C’est un geek sportif : natation, athlétisme, musculation, sports de combat expliquent son gabarit costaud. Un geek qui répare des drones et les montre aux enfants – un grand frère dont rêvent beaucoup de petits garçons : « Quand j’ai vu un atelier robotique organisé dans la résidence, j’ai pensé ‘pourquoi pas ?’ J’ai demandé au gardien ce que c’était et j’ai proposé de montrer aux enfants les nouvelles technologies. » […]

 

Non seulement Ryad répare des drones mais il en fabrique lui-même. La résidence cacherait-elle un genre de garage de Steve Jobs version 2016 ? Je commence à imaginer une chambre convertie en atelier de R&D. Mais je ne vais pas me laisser impressionner : « Bon alors, si je veux me faire mon drone à moi, de quoi ai-je besoin ? » Confiant, Ryad me transmet la recette : « 4 moteurs, 1 système de connexion, 1 carte mère, la manette, un système d’équilibrage, et après, faire sa programmation. » Euh… Je vois à quoi peut ressembler la manette, mais pour le reste… Où a-t-il appris tout ça ? « Seul, sur internet et dans les livres. » […]

 

Après notre rencontre, Ryad rentre chez lui pour travailler sur un projet de voiture hybride. Rien d’extraordinaire, jusqu’à ce que je découvre qu’il s’agit en fait d’une voiture qui roule… et qui vole. Cette fois, c’est l’appartement entier que j’imagine réquisitionné, avec la mère de Ryad dormant dans la baignoire mais les yeux plein d’amour. Peut-être me suis-je un peu emballée ? Ryad planche pour l’instant sur un modèle miniature. Chaque chose en son temps…

 

Au moment de nous quitter, nous croisons une voiture qui se tait en s’arrêtant au feu. Désireuse de ne pas être en reste, je dis : « Tiens justement ! Une voiture hybride ! »

 

– « Celle-là ? Elle a simplement calé » me répond doucement Ryad, pendant que les enfants courent déjà vers lui

 

Rencontre réalisée en novembre 2016

 

Autres portraits