share

Séveryne

Paris 20e

Read the interview

Séveryne

“When I was younger, I had trouble with the system. You had to listen without giving your opinion … I entered School of Neuville, a boarding school, it uses a pedagogy created with Françoise Dolto. In this school, if you have something to say, you think about how to say it so as to be effective. […] And you work because you understand that it’s for you.

 

 

 

When I came out of that school, and I went into tenth grade in the regular high school, I got a good slap in the face. My dad said to me, ‘Finish this year, at least.’ […] My father gave me the time to build my project. […] After, when I earned a degree that’s equivalent to a high school diploma, he thought he had made the right decision.”

 

Séveryne was born in the Saint-Blaise neighborhood and has a long-standing association with Plus Loin.

 

“I was eight years old, I came to go rollerblading. My father left for work – he’s a cook – so he dropped us there. The center has existed for twenty years, initially to fight against drugs and prostitution. They started by offering rollerblading for the little ones in the neighborhood. It was free and it allowed me to play sports.

 

Today, I work with Plus Loin, I earned my BPJEPS degree (1) and I develop projects with the residents, the families, the young people. […]

 

There are many different profiles but we work a lot with women. Some do not speak French so it’s an issue. There are some who do not know how to read at all. Or there are people, they have just never left their street. They say to themselves, ‘I do not know how to do it. It’s going to be crowded, lots of corridors, lots of signs.’ But if your kid has an appointment there, or to go out, or for a job interview, you’re obliged to leave your street. If you do not know how to use public transport, life is much harder.

 

So instead of printing the route, I explain how it works: ‘There, you have the line numbers, you have the colors, there you can change trains, you also have applications that can help you.’ I prefer to take an hour with her and after the person knows how to do it. Teach them to get around on their own, it seems like nothing. For us it’s easy and we do not even think about it, whereas for them it changes their lives. Now these families know how to take the subway without a tutor, without anyone. These are small steps forward. When I have done my job well, it is when no one will need me anymore. […]

 

It’s a little cliché but I think we are stronger together. You know that if you are in trouble, there is your neighbor, people to help out, some people are very adept, they know how to do many things even if they do not have diplomas. They bring the neighborhood to life and help others to get out of it. […]

 

In fact, many young people could already be childcare workers. They take care of the little ones, they know how to live together, share, communicate … While there are people who know how to do things but they do not know how to share. […]

 

By coming out of the traditional system, I figured I had the chance to discover something else and also to learn to think about the neighborhood, not just endure it. So I had to stay there, to share this chance. […]

 

And then, once you have worked or lived a little here, you become attached to people. From home to the bakery, I say hello to fifteen people and each time, fifteen very different people. It’s very strong in diversity, in discoveries.

 

Just there, you see, there is someone who is reading the newspaper along with some young people. And if the old woman there, she stops to talk to the young people, they will be polite, they will ask her questions. People are curious, they want to know a lot of stuff. But, they do not always have the means. Not always the desire either, but I think we are all a bit curious deep down. […]

 

This neighborhood is strong and very alive. And if we can not make things happen in this neighborhood, we will not be able to succeed anywhere.” 

 

(1) Diploma obtained thanks to the support of Aurélia, who Séveryne wishes to thank especially. Aurélia is Coordinator for responsible family culture in the Plus Loin association.

 

 

 

English translation by Kenson Toussaint, Salem State University, Salem, Massachusetts USA

 

Other portraits

Partager

Séveryne

Paris 20e

Lire l’entretien

Séveryne

« Plus jeune, j’avais du mal avec le système. Il fallait écouter sans donner son avis… Je suis rentrée à l’École de la Neuville en internat, c’est une pédagogie construite avec Françoise Dolto. Dans cette école, si tu as un truc à dire, tu réfléchis à comment le dire pour que ça soit efficace. […] Et tu travailles parce que tu comprends que c’est pour toi.

 

 

 

Quand je suis sortie de cette école, que je me suis retrouvée en Seconde au lycée traditionnel, je me suis pris une bonne claque. Mon père m’a dit :  “ Termine au moins la Seconde. ” […] Il m’a laissé le temps de construire mon projet. […] Après j’ai passé un diplôme équivalent au bac, il s’est dit qu’il avait pris la bonne décision. »

 

Séveryne est née dans le quartier Saint-Blaise et connaît depuis longtemps l’association Plus Loin.

 

« J’avais huit ans, je venais faire du roller. Mon père partait travailler – il est cuisinier – du coup il nous déposait là-bas. L’association existe depuis vingt ans, au départ pour lutter contre la drogue et la prostitution. Ils ont commencé en proposant du roller pour les petits du quartier. C’était gratuit et ça me permettait de faire du sport.

 

Aujourd’hui, je travaille avec Plus Loin, j’ai passé mon BPJEPS (1) et je développe des projets avec les habitants, les familles, les jeunes. […] 

 

Il y a plein de profils différents mais nous travaillons beaucoup avec les femmes. Certaines ne savent pas parler français donc c’est vite une galère. Il y en a qui ne savent pas du tout lire. Ou il y a des gens, ils n’ont juste jamais bougé de leur rue. Ils se disent : “ Je sais pas faire. Il va y avoir du monde, y a plein de couloirs, y a plein de panneaux. ” Mais si ton gosse, il a un rendez-vous là, ou pour partir en sortie, ou pour un entretien d’embauche, tu es obligé de sortir de ta rue. Si tu ne sais pas utiliser les transports en commun, la vie est beaucoup plus dure.

 

Donc au lieu d’imprimer l’itinéraire, j’explique comment ça marche : “ Là tu as les numéros de ligne, tu as les couleurs, là tu peux prendre là, tu as aussi des applications qui peuvent t’aider. ” Je préfère prendre une heure avec elle et après la personne sait faire. Leur apprendre à se déplacer toutes seules, ça a l’air de rien. Pour nous c’est facile et on n’y pense même pas, alors que pour elles, ça change leur vie. Maintenant ces familles savent prendre le métro sans éducateur, sans personne. Ce sont des petits coups de pouce. Quand j’aurai bien fait mon travail, c’est quand on n’aura plus besoin de moi. […]

 

Ça fait un peu cliché mais je pense qu’on est plus fort ensemble. Tu sais que si tu es en galère, il y a ta voisine, les gens se rendent service, certaines personnes sont hyper polyvalentes, elles savent faire plein de choses même si elles n’ont pas les diplômes. Elles font vivre le quartier et aident les autres à s’en sortir. […]

 

En fait beaucoup de jeunes pourraient déjà être animateurs. Ils s’occupent des plus petits, ils savent vivre ensemble, partager, transmettre… Alors qu’il y a des gens qui savent faire des choses mais ils ne savent pas transmettre. […]

 

En sortant du système traditionnel, je me suis dit que j’avais eu la chance de découvrir autre chose et aussi d’apprendre à réfléchir sur le quartier, pas seulement de le subir. Du coup il fallait que je reste là, pour partager cette chance. […]

 

Et puis une fois que tu as travaillé ou vécu un peu ici, tu t’attaches aux gens. De chez moi à la boulangerie, je dis bonjour à quinze personnes et chaque fois, quinze personnes ultra différentes. C’est hyper fort en mixité, en découvertes.

 

Rien que là, tu vois, y en a un qui est en train de lire son journal à côté de jeunes. Et si la vieille là, elle s’arrête pour parler aux jeunes, ils vont être polis, ils vont lui poser des questions. Les gens sont curieux, ils ont envie de savoir plein de trucs. Après, ils ont pas toujours les moyens. Pas toujours l’envie aussi, mais je pense qu’au fond on est tous un peu curieux. […]

 

Ce quartier, il est fort et très vivant. Et si dans ce quartier on n’arrive pas à faire bouger les choses, on n’y arrivera nulle part. »

 

(1) Diplôme obtenu grâce au soutien d’Aurélia, que Séveryne tient à remercier particulièrement. Aurélia est Coordinatrice Culture Responsable famille de l’association Plus Loin.

Autres portraits