Yacine

“Soccer was my passion. I played for the French national under-16 team: training every day, matches all over France. At school, I never used to work at the start of the year, only at the end. I had to repeat senior year, and it was much easier the second time. I got my diploma with honors.”

 

But after that, I wasn’t sure what to do with my life. On a website to explore career paths, I clicked on “sports”, “biology”, “chemistry-physics”, and I got “optician”, “athletic trainer”, “dietician” and “physical therapist”. For me, it was the idea of being the guy who treats your injuries on the soccer field. I read the description, and I liked it. In order to go to school for physical therapy, I had to first do a year of medical studies or a year of prep classes for the entrance exam. I didn’t really want to over extend myself because I was still playing soccer then, so I signed up for the public preparatory classes – the other options were too expensive.

 

There I was at the university, where the professors don’t even say anything if you arrive late. I sat in the back, barely took notes… Life was good! In December, first exams: I finished 197th out of 200. Bam!

 

I had gotten to know a guy who was taking the course for a second time, and he told me: “You didn’t understand anything. It’s better if you just stop now.” We almost got in a fight! Baptiste, who was a year older, spoke as if he were my big brother. And I thought he was trying to discourage me.

 

But he went on: “There are 206 of us. If 200 score 19 out of 20 points, you only have to score a 19.5 to be first in the class. So, you have to work. Look, I spend all my time in the library. I never have a day off.” He explained everything to me…

 

I was injured several times playing soccer, and I took it as a sign. I dove into my studies! I followed Baptiste everywhere. Whatever he did, I did, copy and paste! That guy saved me. We became friends. Despite everything, I was too far behind and had to do a second year – at a private school this time because you can only do public school for one year.

 

I busted my ass all summer to make money: working as a cleaner at Disney at night and cleaning out cellars during the day, with all the rats, wet boxes, horrible smells… The rest of the year, I was at the Beaubourg library, even on New Year’s, which I usually never miss spending with my friends.

 

At times, I’d lose my motivation. Taking those prep classes, I discovered a new world: I was the only North African, the only one from a working class neighborhood, and there weren’t a lot of soccer players. It was mostly rugby and tennis players, sons of doctors or physical therapists, graduates of top schools like the HEC or the École des mines… I was like “What the hell am I doing here?”

 

Sometimes, I cried. I didn’t feel excluded, though; I felt different. I wondered if I could make it.

 

And then I failed the exam again! I almost gave up on everything… but then I remembered my second time doing senior year: I ended up being successful. It wasn’t exactly the same thing, but I decided to try a third time. When I was finally accepted into physical therapy school, it was one of the best days of my life!

 

I’m hard on the kids when I talk to them because I know what will happen if they continue going down a certain path. Sometimes, they’ll be targeted because of their physical appearance. That happened to me with a professor who gave me a bad grade that was unjustified on a key assignment. Luckily, the director of studies was able to help me because I had proof. But, I understood then that you can lose everything in an instant if you are not able to push back and advocate for yourself.

 

Today, I am a physical therapist who makes house calls and works in a rehabilitation center for people who have become handicapped due to car accidents. I learned that movement is a crazy thing.

 

First because I learned about frontal lobe syndrome: when you hit something head on, you lose voluntary motor skills and you don’t even think about moving unless someone tells you to. Then also because I was in a scooter accident: head trauma, three weeks of memory loss. I had gone from therapist to patient. Thank God, I was able to recover.

 

Physical therapy is movement therapy. To be healthy, you have to move. I took up Thai boxing, I was still playing soccer now and then, and one day I did a cross training session with a few friends. They were seriously wiped out! But two weeks later, there were twenty of us! That is how the PGC (Physio Global Concept) association was formed: you move everything, you crawl, you jump, etc. It’s the biggest boot camp in the greater Paris area. There’s a guy who’s sixty, a fourteen-year-old kid, an overweight lady, one who is almost anorexic, guys in rehab, businessmen, women who come in from the Défense neighborhood dressed in suits…

 

The PGC slogan is “Adaptation”. There are a thousand and one problems on this earth, but if you have a sound mind and body, you can do anything.” 

 

English translation by Elizabeth Blood, November 2020

Other portraits

partager

Yacine

« Ma passion, c’était le foot. Je jouais en U16 Nationale : entraînement tous les jours, matchs partout en France. À l’école, je travaillais sur la fin, jamais dès le début. J’ai redoublé la terminale et la deuxième année a été plus simple. J’ai eu mon bac avec mention.

 

Mais après, que faire de ma vie ? Sur un site d’orientation professionnelle, j’ai cliqué « sport », « bio », « physique-chimie », j’ai trouvé « opticien », « préparateur physique », « diététicien » et « kiné » : pour moi, c’était surtout le mec qui soignait les blessures sur le terrain de foot. J’ai lu le descriptif, ça m’a plu. Pour l’école de kinésithérapie, il fallait d’abord faire une première année de médecine ou une prépa au concours. Je n’avais pas envie de me casser la tête, j’étais encore dans le foot alors je suis rentré en prépa publique – les autres étant trop chères.

 

Je découvre l’université où le prof ne te dit rien quand tu arrives en retard. Je me mets au fond, je prends à peine les notes… C’est la belle vie ! En décembre, premier partiel : je finis 197e sur 200. La claque !

 

Un redoublant avec qui j’avais fait connaissance me dit : ‘Tu n’as rien compris, c’est mieux que tu arrêtes tout de suite.’ On a failli s’embrouiller ! Baptiste me parlait en mode grand frère alors qu’il avait un an de plus que moi. Et je pensais qu’il cherchait à me dégoûter.

 

Mais il a continué : ‘On est 206 : si 200 ont 19, il faut avoir 19 et demi pour être le premier. Donc il faut travailler. Regarde : je passe mon temps en bibliothèque, j’ai pas un jour off.’ Et il m’a tout expliqué…

 

Je m’étais blessé plusieurs fois au foot, j’ai considéré ça comme un signe : je suis allé à fond dans les études ! J’ai suivi Baptiste partout, ce qu’il faisait, je le faisais, un copier-coller ! Ce mec m’a sauvé. On est devenus potes. Malgré tout, j’avais pris trop de retard et j’ai dû faire une 2e année – dans le privé cette fois, le public n’étant possible qu’un an.

 

J’ai charbonné tout l’été pour rentrer des sous : ménage chez Disney la nuit et déménagements de caves le jour, avec les rats, les cartons imbibés d’eau, les odeurs indescriptibles… Tout le reste de l’année, j’étais à la bibliothèque Beaubourg, même le jour de l’an que je ne ratais jamais d’habitude avec les potes.

 

Parfois j’ai eu des baisses de motivation. En prépa, je découvrais un autre monde : j’étais le seul rebeu, le seul des quartiers populaires, les footeux étaient rares, c’étaient plutôt des rugbymen, des tennismen, des fils de médecins, de kinés, venus d’HEC, de l’École des mines… Je pensais ‘Qu’est-ce que je fous là ?’

 

Il m’est arrivé de pleurer. Je ne me sentais pas à l’écart, non : je me sentais différent. Je me demandais si j’allais réussir.

 

Et je rate encore le concours ! J’ai failli tout plaquer… mais je me suis souvenu de ma deuxième année de terminale : j’avais fini par réussir. Là c’était pas totalement pareil mais j’ai quand même tenté une troisième fois… Quand je suis enfin rentré en école de kiné, ça a été un des plus beaux jours de ma vie !

 

Je suis dur quand je parle aux petits parce que je sais ce qui les attend s’ils continuent dans une certaine voie. Parfois, ils seront aussi victimes de leur faciès. Ça m’est arrivé avec un prof qui m’a mis une note injustifiée et déterminante. Heureusement, la responsable de formation a pu m’aider car il y avait des preuves. Mais là, j’ai compris que tu peux tout perdre en dix secondes si tu n’as pas ce recul de desserrer le poing.

 

Aujourd’hui je suis kinésithérapeute à domicile et en centre de rééducation auprès de personnes handicapées suite à un accident de la route. Je me suis rendu compte que bouger, c’est un truc de fou.

 

D’abord parce que j’ai découvert ce qu’est le syndrome frontal : tu prends un choc pleine face, tu perds la motricité volontaire et tu ne penses plus à bouger sauf si on te le propose. Ensuite parce que j’ai fait un accident en scooter : trauma crânien, trois semaines de perte de mémoire. J’étais passé de thérapeute à patient. Dieu merci, j’ai tout récupéré.

 

La kinésithérapie, c’est la thérapie par le mouvement. Pour vivre en bonne santé, il faut bouger. J’ai repris la boxe thai, je continuais un peu le foot et un jour, avec trois potes, j’ai fait une séance de cross training.

 

Ils étaient morts de chez morts ! Mais deux semaines plus tard, on était déjà vingt !

 

C’est comme ça qu’est née l’association PGC (Physio Global Concept) : tu bouges tout, tu rampes, tu sautes, etc. C’est le plus gros boot camp d’Île-de-France. Il y a un mec de soixante balais, un petit de quatorze, une nana en surpoids, une presque anorexique, des mecs en réinsertion, des cadres, des nanas qui arrivent de La Défense en tailleur…

 

La devise de PGC, c’est ‘Adaptation’. Il y a mille et un problèmes sur Terre, mais si tu as toute ta tête et ton physique, tu peux tout faire. »

 

Rencontre réalisée en juillet 2020

Autres portraits