Jobs in Sports: Turning Your Passion into a Career

Outdoor exhibit of drawn and written portraits

 

 

 

         

 

Many young people are passionate about sports. They practice, watch, cheer on their team, some even dream of a career playing sports. But are they aware that there are hundreds of jobs that relate to sports?

 

“Jobs in Sports: Turning Your Passion into a Career” explores the wide variety of jobs in the industry through the portraits and stories of people working in this field. Through these written and drawn portraits, we hope to educate and inspire young people about where their passion for sports can take them.

 

Thanks to participants from the Meltin’Club Paris and Panagon, and with support from the City of Paris and Paris Habitat, this exhibit was installed on the Stalingrad playgrounds in the 19th arrondissement of Paris on October 2020 and was extended until March 2021.

 

The exhibit has been part of several events… either cancelled or postponed due to the health crisis. The written stories illustrated with drawn portraits and exhibited in a public space allow for new types of encounters.

 

François Dagnaud, Mayor of the 19th arrondissement, visits the exhibit with assistants Halima Jemni and Xavier Golczyk

 

« I came across the portraits on my way to the métro with my son. It was early, cold, and still dark out. With the virus, the streets have been pretty empty. Seeing those smiling faces made us feel so good! They warmed up the area and created a sense of togetherness.

 

We are all in such a hurry, passing by on the streets but never stopping to talk. I’ve met quite a few people here but we are so busy, we tend to just stay within our little circle of friends. With these portraits, I’ve discovered new people, and I’m so moved by their life stories.

 

Now, in the morning, after I go jogging, I have a coffee and read the portraits. They fill the space in a perfect way, without taking it over. It’s just wonderful to see them in this space! »

Mitzi, resident of the 19th arrondissement

 

 

 

In preparing these portraits, Christine Boulanger met with Assitan, Bülent, Falassa, Jean, Laura, Syra, Yacine and Youssouf online during the first lockdown or in person just after. She invited some young people to join her.

 

« It was very interesting to meet Yousri: he had already done a lot for someone his age and during our meeting, I sort of took on a mentoring role. Compared to a typical interview, this special format really encouraged us to speak freely. »

Bülent, one of the portrait subjects for this exhibit

 

 

 

 

 

« I ask a few questions, I break the ice, then the interview quickly turns into a conversation. I pick up on a word, dig into it, and then let things flow without trying to control the conversation. This is active listening. »

 

Christine is always looking for an anecdote to illustrate the profound human experience of each subject, one that each of us will be able to relate to.

 

« I try to reveal the thing that we all have in common: our humanity. Inspiring portraits anchored in reality, so that we can see ourselves differently, see each other differently, see the world differently. »

 

See some examples

 

The next step in the project is to find other spaces to exhibit or project the portraits, complemented by workshops and booklets that can be distributed.

 

To be notified about portraits added to the online gallery and to receive news directly to your email inbox, sign up here: http://eepurl.com/gXFVFH.

Métiers du sport – Faire de sa passion un métier

Exposition en plein air de portraits dessinés et racontés

 

 

 

         

 

Nombreux sont les jeunes passionnés par le sport. Ils pratiquent, regardent, encouragent, certains rêvent d’en faire une carrière, mais ont-ils conscience que des centaines de métiers gravitent autour du sport ?

 

« Métiers du sport : faire de sa passion un métier » explore la diversité des métiers du secteur au travers de portraits dessinés et racontés, pour informer et inspirer les jeunes sur les horizons que peut ouvrir une passion pour le sport.

 

Réalisée avec les équipes du Meltin’Club Paris et Panagon et le soutien de la Ville de Paris et de Paris Habitat, installée le 4 octobre 2020 sur les playgrounds emblématiques de Stalingrad dans le 19ème arrondissement à Paris et prolongée jusqu’au 28 févier 2021, l’exposition était associée à plusieurs événements… qui ont été annulés ou reportés, crise sanitaire oblige.

 

Dessinés et racontés, les portraits partagés dans l’espace public permettent de se rencontrer autrement.

 

Visite de François Dagnaud, maire du 19e arrondissement avec ses adjoints Halima Jemni et Xavier Golczyk

 

« C’est en prenant le métro avec mon fils que nous avons découvert les portraits. C’était le matin, il faisait froid et encore nuit. Et avec le virus, les rues sont un peu vides. Ça nous a fait du bien de voir des regards souriants ! Ils ramènent de la chaleur et créent de la convivialité.

 

On est toujours pressé, on se croise tout le temps mais on n’ose pas s’aborder. J’ai déjà rencontré pas mal de gens ici mais nous sommes très occupés et nous avons tendance à rester dans notre petit cercle. Avec ces portraits, je découvre d’autres personnes et leurs parcours me touchent.

 

Maintenant le matin, après avoir fait mon jogging, je prends un café tout en lisant les portraits. Ils remplissent l’espace de manière agréable, sans s’imposer. C’est génial de les voir à cet endroit-là ! »

Mitzi, habitante du 19ème arrondissement

 

 

Pour préparer les portraits, Christine Boulanger a rencontré Assitan, Bülent, Falassa, Jean, Laura, Syra, Yacine et Youssouf en ligne pendant le premier confinement ou en direct juste après. Elle a proposé à des jeunes de l’accompagner.

 

« C’était très intéressant de rencontrer Yousri : il a déjà fait beaucoup de choses pour son jeune âge et pendant notre rencontre, j’ai joué un peu le rôle de mentor. Ce format spécial par rapport à une interview classique libère la parole. »

Bülent, un des portraitisés de l’exposition
 

 

 

 

« Je pose quelques questions, je commence le croquis et, rapidement, l’interview devient une conversation. Je rebondis sur un mot, je creuse et me laisse surprendre, sans diriger. C’est ça, l’écoute active. »

 

Christine cherche l’anecdote qui reflète cette dimension profondément humaine qui pourra trouver un écho chez chacun d’entre nous.

 

« Je cherche à mettre en lumière ce que nous avons toutes et tous en commun : notre humanité. Des portraits inspirants ancrés dans le réel pour se voir autrement, voir les autres autrement, voir le monde autrement. »

 

Les rencontrer

 

La suite du projet, ce sont d’autres lieux où les portraits seront exposés ou projetés, complétés par des ateliers et partagés sous forme de livrets.

 

Pour être informés des portraits qui seront publiés dans la galerie en ligne et recevoir des nouvelles directement dans votre boîte mail : http://eepurl.com/gXFVFH.

 

Le terrain de basket où est installée l’exposition jusqu’au 28 févier 2021 est situé 234 boulevard de la Villette, 75019 Paris.