The faces around Rosa Parks

Creation of drawn and self-descriptive portraits and the organisation of a public event | Council of Paris, 19th district council of Paris and Paris Habitat

 

 

 

Following the attacks in Paris in 2015, the new RER inter-urban train station Rosa Parks, in the north-east of Paris, couldn’t be opened as planned. Throughout 2016 portraits were created of the people living in the district surrounding the station, with the cooperation of local community groups (Espace 19, ALJT, Une Chorba pour Tous – A Soup for Everyone.

 

Poster of the event

The portraits were projected in the hall of the Rosa Parks station during the “Nuit Blanche” 2016, the annual event when Paris stays open all night. The project was supported by train operator SNCF, Paris Habitat, the councils of Paris and the 19th district.

 

This transitory space, for several hours, became a meeting place. Other artists also participated in the event including Jordane Saget, who drew a fresco in chalk, and numerous musicians (Rivkha and the Last Minute Choir, The Fantasy Orchestra…).

 

 

 

See the portraits

The warm-hearted way you see the people of this district provides us all with a real sense of strength and opportunity. »

François Dagnaud, 
Mayor of the 19th district

 

 

By producing ‘The faces around Rosa Parks’ you have succeeded in adding new discoveries to the Nuit Blanche, giving it more meaning and beauty, which are the hallmarks of this high-quality and broadly popular event. »

Emmanuel Daydé,
Head of Mission, Nuit Blanche, The department of cultural affairs, Paris City Council.

Regards autour de Rosa Parks

Entretiens et réalisation de portraits dessinés et racontés, organisation d’un événement public.

 

 

 

Suite aux attentats à Paris en 2015, la nouvelle gare RER Rosa Parks dans le nord-est parisien n’avait pu être inaugurée comme prévu. Tout au long de l’année 2016 sont réalisés des portraits d’habitants du quartier autour de la gare avec la complicité des associations du 19e arrondissement (Espace 19, l’ALJT, Une Chorba pour Tous…).

 

Affiche de l’événement

Ils sont projetés dans le couloir de la gare Rosa Parks pendant la Nuit Blanche 2016 avec le soutien de la SNCF, de Paris Habitat, des mairies de Paris et du 19e arrondissement.

 

Ce lieu de passage devient pour quelques heures en lieu de rencontres, où sont invités également Jordane Saget pour une fresque à la craie et de nombreux musiciens (Rivkha and the Last Minute Choir, The fantasy Orchestra…).

 

 

 

Voir les portraits

Le regard bienveillant que vous portez sur les gens qui font ce quartier est une vraie force et une vraie chance pour nous tous. »

François Dagnaud, 
maire du 19e arrondissement

 

 

En réalisant votre performance ‘Regards autour de Rosa Parks’ à la gare RER Rosa Parks, vous avez réussi à prolonger la Nuit par d’autres découvertes, lui conférant ce surcroît de sens et de beauté qui sont la marque de ce rendez-vous exigeant et populaire. »

Emmanuel Daydé,
Responsable de la mission Nuit Blanche, Direction des Affaires culturelles de la Mairie de Paris