Quartiers en Cultures

Creation and outdoor exhibition of drawn and self-descriptive portraits | Federation of Social and Sociocultural Centres in Paris

 

 

 

The Federation of Paris Social Centres wanted a common thread for communications around the 2nd edition of its Quartiers en Cultures festival, involving 23 Paris districts. The residents were up for the game of portraits to enhance the image of the working-class districts of Paris, show their cultural diversity and highlight their knowledge and skills.

 

Their portraits were also an opportunity to give a voice to people who only recently learnt French. The portraits were then exhibited in the Paris districts throughout the festival and used on the festival’s posters and website.

 

The portrait experience gave certain participants a new energy and desire to become more involved in community groups and activities.

 

View portraits

There is respect in your way to do portraits. And each subject is different. »

Mylène, resident of the 13th arrondissement of Paris et portrait subject for the festival Quartiers en Cultures

 

 

We were delighted by the personal contribution of Ali Konate during the drawing of his portrait and the meeting with you. We would like to thank you, on behalf of all the people at the centre, to have contributed, with Ali, to our cultural festival for residents. »

Marie-Line Benoît Hervé, Director of the Solidarité Roquette social centre, 11th arrondissement of Paris

Quartiers en Cultures

Réalisation et exposition en plein air de portraits dessinés et racontés avec les habitants de quartiers parisiens.

 

 

 

La Fédération des Centres Sociaux de Paris cherchait un fil rouge pour la communication de la 2e édition du festival Quartiers en Cultures, auquel participent 23 quartiers parisiens. Les habitants se sont prêtés au jeu du portrait pour valoriser l’image des quartiers populaires parisiens, montrer la pluralité des identités culturelles et mettre en avant leurs savoir-faire et leurs compétences.

 

Leurs portraits ont aussi été l’occasion de donner la parole à des personnes ayant appris très récemment la langue française. Ils ont ensuite été exposés dans les quartiers parisiens tout au long du festival, présentés sur l’affiche de l’événement et diffusés sur le web.

 

Cette expérience du portrait a insufflé chez certains participants une dynamique nouvelle et l’envie de s’investir davantage dans des actions associatives.

 

Voir les portraits

Il y a un respect dans ta manière de faire les portraits. Et chaque sujet est différent. »

Mylène, habitante du 13e arrondissement de Paris et participante aux portraits du festival Quartiers en Cultures

 

 

La contribution personnelle d’Ali Konaté à travers son portrait et la rencontre avec toi nous a ravis. Nous tenons à te remercier au nom de l’ensemble des personnes du centre d’avoir contribué avec Ali à notre festival culturel des habitants. »

Marie-Line Benoît Hervé, Directrice du centre social Solidarité Roquette, 11e arrondissement de Paris